top of page

Exclusive Interview with October's Artist of the Month-Liddy Clark


Introduction

Liddy Clark is a singer/songwriter who forges a fresh, new path in country music with keep-it- real lyrics and trailblazing sonic landscapes. Her music blends a world-wide-open youthfulness and “ain’t-scared” attitude, topped-off with a definitive hallmark vocal that has led to over 500,000 social media followers. “These songs chart the journey I’ve experienced over the past few years; including loss, love and trying to be yourself in a world where it’s sometimes easier to live on someone else’s terms.” Says the young songwriter, “I think a lot of young people can relate to being pushed around, and I certainly have had my share of challenges. With my music, I want to draw a line in the sand and promote being yourself.” – Liddy Clark

Liddy Clark won the October Featured Artist of the Month contest and has been a been a member of the SocialStars family of Artists for a little over a year now. SocialStars found Liddy on Youtube a couple years ago and has been following her career for some time now. Liddy is always posting some great covers regularly on some of the most Popular hits of the time, along with new originals songs.

Liddy is a Southern Florida native now living in Los Angeles and going to USC where she is studying Music Industry and Business. When I asked Liddy if she would be interested in competing in our monthly contest she jumped at the chance immediately and got her friends to support and vote her

in to win. I recently had the chance to talk with her and conduct an interview. We hope you enjoy the following interview and please comment in the box below and make sure to follow us both on social media and support her music and talent.

Interview Q&A

Tell us a little about growing up and how you became involved with music and singing?

Liddy: I became involved in singing through a talent show at my school when I was 7! Then I went into vocal lessons & here I am today!

How involved is your family with your music career?

Liddy: Extremely, but not to the point at which it ruins the artistry of it lol. But they are extremely supportive of everything I do :)

What are some of the key turning points in your musical career so far?

Liddy: Going out on radio tour last year really changed my whole perspective on the business & I feel like I've gained so much life experience from that journey.

Let's talk about balancing your school and your music career! Tell us how you handle the day to day of going to school, maintaining a social media presence and performing and making time to learn new content and practicing your musical skills?

I'm always busy lol. I find time between classes, napping, & attempting to have a normal social life to go on social media and maintain my presence with my fans :)

What has been some of your most memorable performances and what made them special to you?

I performed at IHeart Radio in March of this last year in NYC & it will forever be one of my favorite performances. Not only was the sound system amazing but I also had some great friends there with me who played with me on stage :)

When you look back now who would you say have been your musical influences?

Liddy: My mom would always play Shania Twain & John Mayer in the car on road trips growing up, so I'd say that's definitely an influence. More recently, I also love artists like Eric Church, Parachute, Ed Sheeran, Maren Morris, etc. The list could go on & on.

Social media is the largest part of being successful in the age of electronics now. Tell us how important it has been in your success and what type of fan involvement you have on social media?

Liddy: Social media is how I stay connected with fans & how they know what I'm up to so I'd say it's one of the most vital parts of my artist career. I love hearing stories from fans about my music & how their experiences are similar to mine.

From a writers stand point, how much time do you set back to create new lyrics and do you write with other writers regularly?

Liddy: I'm in college currently, so having a set writing schedule helps me make sure I don't forget to engage in my craft lol. I write at least 4-5 hours a week & will come up with ideas when I'm out with friends or in class.

As an independent artist what are some of the biggest challenges you face in your career and what kind of goals do you set to overcome the challenges?

Liddy: Independent artists face a multitude of challenges, however I think the social media aspect is changing the game in favor of us. It is more difficult to get certain kinds of people to take you seriously, but once they realize that you are there's no stopping it.

Let's talk about performing live.Tell us about the energy you bring to your live performances and what kind of fan reaction you get from your performances?

Liddy: Live performances are one of my favorite parts of artistry. Feeling the energy of the crowd & connecting on that deeper level gives me such a high that I can't help but get psyched before every performance.

How would you describe yourself on stage and off stage as well?

Liddy: On stage I feel very confident with myself & sometimes more vulnerable than expected. Off stage I still make a lot of really unfunny jokes, but I definitely find more comfort in front of a crowd.

When was the first time you had a fan recognize you while out randomly and how did it feel to be known for your talents?

Liddy: It was a few years ago, someone recognized me from my Facebook while I was out with friends & asked for a picture. It was definitely a weird but exciting experience.

With music set aside, what are some of your favorite activities and hobbies? Are you involved with charities and if so what kind of causes are important to you?

Liddy: I enjoy going to school & cooking! I love being involved with charities and recently played at a Best Buddies event. The energy was so pure and loving there that it just made that performance even more exciting.

Tell us about your newest single and give us the story behind the song Falling Into You?

Liddy: I wrote Falling Into You about 4 years ago with some co-writer friends of mine & the basic story of it was just about as simple as the song title- about falling in love with someone. I came up with the pre-chorus first & then brought it in the rest of the lines & the rest is history!

This song can be found on Spotify and iTunes for download, see links below to all of Liddy's Social Media.

Painted by Numbers is another favorite of mine! Tell us more about that song also?

Liddy: I wrote that song when I was 16 & going through a bit of a rough patch myself. I knew I wanted to write a song that made me feel better about myself, but to also help others who didn't feel as confident with themselves. To this day it's still one of my favorite songs I've ever written.

Time for some favorites questions! Tell us you favorite:

TV and Netflix Series- Currently it would be Stanger Things

Favorite Artists- John Mayer, Ed Sheeran, Parachute and many more...

Favorite Starbucks drink- Pumpkin Spice Frappucchino (i know, basic)

Favorite food- tex mex

Favorite places to shop- LF

Favorite color- navy blue

Favorite time of year- Fall

Favorite holiday- Christmas

Favorite book- Looking for Alaska

and favorite place you have been? Venice

Give us your thoughts of how the experience has been working together all month as our featured artist and what you would say to other future artists of the month?

Liddy: It's been awesome working with SocialStars! Keep up the hard work & never stop believing (in the words of Journey).

Finally give us any new upcoming performances or what you have planned to keep an eye out for?Liddy: I'm still settling into college but you can expect to see some dates pop up real soon!

Make sure to check out her links below to find out more about Liddy and keep up with her to find out when and where she will be performing.

Links

You can also find her on Spotify and iTunes

Thank you Liddy for allowing us the chance to conduct this interview with you. We are honored to have you as our Featured Artist of the Month and have had a great time getting to know you better!

Good luck in your future adventures and we look forward to seeing more great music videos in the future!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page