top of page

The Story Behind "Gypsy Daughter" by Chloe Caroline


Introduction

Born and raised off of the Pacific Coast Highway on the shores of Manhattan Beach, California,

Chloé Caroline was immersed in sound from birth. Her father, a musician and film maker, filled

their house with the eclectic sounds of Fleetwood Mac and The Stones, mashed up with Frank

Sinatra, Ricky Lee Jones and Dolly Parton.

A gypsy in spirit and a student of human behavior Chloé has been writing songs in journals for

as long as she can remember. “My lyrics are intimately personal to me but also based on

universal experiences that people can relate to”, says Chloé.

Chloe’s unique, melancholic vocal style and reflective lyrics helped her define a "New SoCal

Sound” combining old school influences with fresh, organic, Indie-pop twist which has caught

the attention of industry heavy hitters including this review from Caesar’s Entertainment

President Jason Gastwirth at The Emerge+Music festival in Las Vegas. “Chloé has a beautiful

voice, strong stage presence, and tremendous upside, said Jason, Her audience engagement

introducing her songs also came across as really sincere.”

Her personal, daily connection with over 200k fans has built a devoted, global “Chloé Caroline

Crew” of followers.

Since 2015 Chloé has written and performed several songs for film including key placements

such as “Ready To Come Home” and Oscar winner Steve Herek’s “The Great Gilly Hopkins”.

She has released 1 EP and 3 singles independently and all have been selected as iTunes “Hot

Tracks”. Her 2016 single “Indian Summer” was produced by Grammy winner Ben Harper and

guitarist Jason Mozersky garnering her feature stories and heavy rotation on BBC and Radio

Disney, Nickelodeon, and Radio One Australia, proving that her sound has a global following.

She is currently recording her new full length album titled “Gypsy Daughter” in Nashville and

Los Angeles and will be touring throughout 2018 in select cities. Her title single from her new

album, “Gypsy Daughter”, will be released on May 11th.

Chloé was one of the Original followers of SocialStars when we first emerged. She has been featured in an exclusive interview and her single "Ready to Come Home" was the first official song review that I had the opportunity to write and review for her. Her single "Indian Summer" was nominated in our Best of 2016 Awards for Best New Original and she was also nominated for Best SocialStars Supportive Artist for her constant support to us and all her fans.

I have had the pleasure of watching her grow as an emerging artist over the past 3 years and have got to know her not only through her music but through the friendship we have shared over this time.

Chloé is currently our Featured Artist of the Month for June, 2018 and has expressed her excitement for this opportunity. It is an honor for SocialStars to have her as our spokesperson for the month.

SocialStars Review

When I first heard her latest single "Gypsy Daughter" I was excited, not only for the song but for her return to releasing new original songs. Mostly because I knew how long she has been working on her upcoming album titled "Gypsy Daughter" and the single just released on May 11th of 2018. This song tells a great story of her free spirit and shows a side of her that I had not seen or heard till I listened to the song and it's remarkable lyrics.

Chloé had told me months prior that she wanted to show her true self in this entire album and that it would be a reflection of her own personality. She wanted it to reflect her roots from growing up in California and her mix of styles that cross many genres and intermixed she has created a unique style of her own. All of her music is very easy to relate to and "Gypsy Daughter" is a great example of her writing style that will appeal to the "free spirit" that is inside each and everyone just waiting to be released.

I had the opportunity to speak with Chloé recently about her new single and upcoming album and I got the story behind "Gypsy Daughter" and I was mesmerized by what she had to say about it. Listen to the song below and then we will get into her story!

I relate to this song so well because I feel that I am a gypsy in my own way, wondering through life freely and enjoying the small things...SocialStars

The Story Behind "Gypsy Daughter"

“Gypsy Daughter” began in my room in Nashville one night when I was doing some self reflection. Making this record was a soul searching experience because I wanted every song to be a reflection of the different parts of me. I was missing California and I was coming up on five years of being based in Nashville. It was in that moment I realized how a lot of my personality was nurtured and influenced by where I grew up and the lifestyle around that. I’ve always been a free spirit—-curious cat of a girl always looking to explore the world, meet different types of people (I’m a floater!), and was always involved in various activities. I’ve never felt like I was one thing and I loved the freedom of that. I think all of us are on an endless journey but we are afraid of growing or judgement when it’s all part of the process. Growing up in a chill beach town in the middle of chaotic and super diverse Los Angeles California was the ultimate place for that. When I was 11 I got really sick and in that isolation when I didn’t know if I’d make it, it was watching the sunset and writing that brought me escape. I knew I had a certain amount of time every day before the sun went down to make the most of it and I could go wherever I wanted through writing using my imagination. I learned life went by quickly but I had the choice to control how I lived in that time and what I did with it. I wanted to learn and become a better version of myself. Ironically, writing has allowed me to go on a journey beyond California and touch other people’s lives as well and make a difference through allowing people to feel like they’re related to. I can take them to various places in their mind through music as well and that’s so cool. I’m a gypsy daughter, what can I say.

We are all on our own journey through life and there are many adventures just waiting for us around every corner. When my journey crossed paths with Chloé's I knew it was something special. We was both looking for the same thing and that was to make a difference in other people's lives through music and support. My journey has been similar in that I have been very ill and have used music and writing to escape the daily pain that I endure. I relate to this song so well because I feel that I am a gypsy in my own way, wondering through life freely and enjoying the small things that we tend to overlook in our busy lives. I have been on an incredible journey to find myself and sometimes that means evolving and changing which is scary for most of us. Sometimes it takes change though to actually find the happiness that we all seek and to become the better version of ourselves. Together our journey has came full circle. She is a "Gypsy Daughter" and I have became her gypsy brother.

We hope you enjoyed reading this and learning more about Chloé and her her music and the story behind her new song. You can help her by pre-ordering her new album at the links below. Thank you for supporting her and make sure to follow her for more great music.

Follow Chloé Caroline at:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page