top of page

Southern Rock the Hoosier Way with Abbi Scott


Introduction

Please welcome our August, 2018 Featured Artist of the Month Abbi Scott! She is a Southern Rock and Country Singer/Songwriter from Clinton, IN. A true southern Hoosier girl at heart Abbi has been a longtime Featured Artist of the SocialStars Family of Artists. We are honored to have our second Indiana artist to be added to the list of Featured Artists of the Month. Abbi is an energetic performer that has been in the spotlight many times throughout her career with major artists.

SocialStars has had time this month to really get to know more about Abbi and her amazing career and we are awaiting her new EP that is in the works of being produced. If it is anything like her previous music it will be an amazing mix of energy and heart felt lyrics intertwined with her Southern Rock melodies that her fans have come to love about her.

Exclusive Interview with Abbi Scott

We recently had the pleasure at SocialStars to sit down and do a Q&A with Abbi and honored to be able to share it with her fans the #AbbiArmy !!! If you are not part of the AbbiArmy we will have links to all her social media at the end of the interview! Help support her and all Indie Artists because they do it all for the love of the fans! We hope you enjoy the following interview we put together and please leave any comments or questions of your own that we will try to get answered for you. Thanks for reading and share it with your friends if you enjoy it!

SocialStars: Let's start the interview by telling us a little about yourself. Where you are from? When did you begin singing and some interesting facts about yourself.

Abbi: I'm originally from a tiny town called Clinton located 30 minutes north from Terre Haute, Indiana. I began singing at a very young age. I asked my parents to get me singing lessons when I was just 5 years old. So from there, I started competing in little county fair contests.. I won a few contests and my parents thought, "wow she may actually be good at this."

SocialStars: Did you grow up in a musical family and if so tell us about how your family has influenced your career?

Abbi: I didn't grow up in a musical family but I grew up in a family full of music lovers. Music was playing always throughout the house whether it be some country from my mom or some classic 80's Rock from my dad. My family has always been so supportive of my musical dreams.

SocialStars: Who are some of your musical influences that you would attribute your style from?

Abbi: My musical influences are all over the board, from listening to my dad's music my big influences came from Lynyrd Skynyrd, Motley Crue, Tesla and all hair bands really. But then from the country world of my momma, when I was really young I always sang along to Martina McBride, and the Dixie Chicks. But as I grew older I fell in love with Miranda Lambert, Gretchen Wilson, Brothers Osborne & the Cadillac Three.

SocialStars: Tell us about your highlights in your career to date, awards, memorable performances and fan experience?

Abbi: To date my highlights from my career have been all over the board, I've opened for several artists, and I feel so blessed to have had these opportunities. I've opened for Jana Kramer, Lee Brice, Maggie Rose, Dustin Lynch, Trick Pony, Luke Bryan, Dierks Bentley, Cole Swindell, Josh Thompson, & Confederate Railroad. Opening for Lee Brice was one of my favorite performances because Lee Brice was one of the nicest people I've ever met, and we bonded over the catered Subway! :) The fans at this show in particular were absolutely amazing, just like all my fans though!

SocialStars: My biggest achievements to date have got to be the nominations in the Nashville Universe Awards and the upcoming Josie Awards! But the fans, artists and friends give me the best memories.

SocialStars: Are you involved in any singer/songwriters groups like CMA, ISSA, NSAI, BMI etc...?

Abbi: I have in the past been a member of the NSAI songwriters association and the BMI songwriters association.

SocialStars: I just became a member of ISSA myself and I am continuing to write from time to time! I hope to someday get a song produced.

SocialStars: How about charitable organizations! Are you involved in any and which ones are closest to your heart?

Abbi: Now when it comes to charitable events, that is something that is near and dear to my heart. Growing up in Indiana I would always volunteer my time to a non-profit charity called Ryves Youth Center that benefited children in poverty. These children came from horrible home lives, and would come here after school for a meal, and safe place to play games in the gym or get tutored from mentors. I would go to this center and sing to the children, and just simply speak to them and try and be a positive influence. Of course, I would always donate clothing or shoes that someone else needed more then me. I like to give back to as many people as possible and animals, I rescued my pup from a shelter because rescue is my favorite breed. I take part in organizations where all the profits benefit homeless animals as well.

SocialStars: Give us a little sneak peak at what you are currently working on! Do you have titles for your upcoming album?

Abbi: I'm currently working on new material in the studio and I want to keep everyone guessing on what I'm up too.

SocialStars: So mysterious! I guess we just have to wait and see what you come up with next. I am sure it will be energetic and full of good Southern Rock melodies!

SocialStars: Tell us about some of the songs you have previously written and recorded. One of my favorites is Young, Young, Young. Like all artists you probably have songs that you write but never record, how do you choose which songs you want to record and the ones you keep for later or just for personal songs to look back on from time to time?

Abbi: I’ve written a lot actually but some will never see the light of day. Having written songs since before the age of 14, I have a lot in my catalog but most people are familiar with YOUNG YOUNG YOUNG. that song is about my hometown and I really wrote it about people I knew and a place you can visit (Raccoon Lake). It’s my life and I think people can relate because don’t we all really want to feel young. I’ll always look back over my songs and smile. I choose a song now for how they fit into a project and where I’m currently at in my life.

Let's take a look at one of her early singles! Here is Young, Young, Young by Abbi Scott

SocialStars: When writing where do you get your inspiration from and do you have a certain process that you use when writing new songs?

Abbi: I write about my life and what’s happening to me and it seems to hit home for others. I mostly love to perform though. Writing takes a back seat to performing for me. I grab a notebook, sit down and write. Sometimes I co-write. Sometimes it’s like journal writing. Sometimes I’m inspired. Sometimes I have meetings (even with Grammy winners). You just never know.

SocialStars: I can imagine there is no greater feeling than getting up and performing a song that your put your heart into making and seeing the reaction of your fans.

SocialStars: How would you describe your style on stage when performing?

Abbi: I would describe myself on stage as a Fire Cracker. I can't stand still and I always want to be all over the stage, and making the crowd feel alive and living for the moment! i want to make people have some of the best nights of their lives when they come to my shows.

SocialStars: Besides music being your main interest, what other activities do you enjoy? Do you have any hobbies or other special talents that your fans may not know?

Abbi: Whenever I'm not doing anything in the music world I love the outdoors, I love deer hunting and fishing and just riding four-wheelers. I also love just being with my friends and family, watching movies or trying cute restaurants. I also just love being with my puppy and taking her on walks.

SocialStars: I am an avid ATV rider myself and enjoy getting out to fish and hunt also! Spending time with family and friends is one of my favorite past times. I love old cars and 4 wheel drive trucks also, I guess I would say I am your typical Indiana Country boy.

Click on picture above for an all new Abbi Scott Playlist on our channel!!!

SocialStars: Social media is an artists greatest tool in getting their work recognized. Tell us how much work you put into building a fan base through social media and the effort you put into interacting with your fans on a personal basis?

Abbi: I’m on social media constantly building it with my fam ... who are my fan base. They’ve became extremely important in my world and I count on them!! 24/7 basically. I believe in staying connected.

Ok time for some fun questions to get to know you better!

What is your pets name? I have one rescue dog and her name is Teensie. She is my pride and joy. She was abused and is now 2 years old. I always tell everyone to adopt and don’t shop if you can.

What kind of ATV do you have? I have no idea what make of 4 wheeler we have back home in Indiana .. it’s been in our garage and it’s older than i am, I swear but it’s great!! And yes, I drive it all over our land. I do fish too in our pond.

What is your favorite color? Yellow is my favorite color. Always has been!!

What are your favorite TV Shows and Movies? TV shows .. I like Lock-Up or crime shows and Stepbrothers would rank up there as one of my favorite movies!

How about your favorite restaurant and food? Restaurants... love them all but I’m a big fan of sushi!

Favorite drinks or beverages? Favorite drink ... I love so many it varies from day to day. Love coffee and teas and yes, I love honey bourbon.

What is your favorite Sports Team? Chicago Cubs. I was raised on them!!

So let me see if I got all this right! You're a Southern Rocker with a pup named Teensie, sushi eating, honey bourbon drinking, Cubbies fan, that loves to fish, ride 4-wheel ATV's and watch crime shows and laugh hard at your favorite movie "Stepbrothers" Sounds like the type of Hoosier gal that all of us Hoosier guys love! I just haven't found my Hoosier gal because "Love Wasn't Ready For Me"

SocialStars: Tell us about your experience of being voted Featured Artist of the month for August?

Abbi: I’m blessed to be the this months featured artist! Thank you for blessing me with being so awesome. Truly!!!

SocialStars: We are honored to have you as part of our family here! It has been a great month and the memories will stay with us for years to come! We can't wait to see your upcoming EP and continue seeing you live your dreams to the fullest! Thank you so much from myself and all your friends here with SocialStars!

To find out more about Abbi Scott and become part of the Abbi Army visit the links below !!!

Make sure to send @TeensieDog a tweet treat too and follow!

Facebook: @abbiscott1

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page