top of page

Breaking Free with Dallas Remington-Found Her Freedom Exclusive Interview


I had the opportunity recently to sit and talk with Dallas Remington our August 2017 Featured Artist Winner and her friend and co-writer Amanda Cooksey our September 2017 Featured Artist about the Debut Single- Found Her Freedom that is now available on iTunes. I had the great opportunity also to put together a fan video for her song which can be found on YouTube below in this blog!

This was a fun interview because I asked both of them similar questions. The responses I got from them both were just amazing! I hope you enjoy the following interview as much as I did conducting it and getting to know more about each of them.!

Describe how it feels to work with your best friend on your debut single and the feelings you had when you finally got the song into production.

Dallas:It is always exciting when you start a new project! When you start that project with a friend, it can be super fun! Amanda and I actually wrote “Found Her Freedom” one afternoon two years ago in a borrowed office space on Music Row. I knew when we finished the song, it was going to be one I wanted to record. I love the way the track came out and when we received the rough mix with the vocals and the track, I knew it was going to be my first single.

Describe what a typical writing session is like when you and Dallas get together?

Amanda:It’s always a good time writing with Dallas. It’s funny because it doesn’t usually take us very long to write a song. The reason the write goes for three or four hours is because we spend a lot of the time catching up, but still come out with a great song at the end of the day. Dallas always brings in great ideas and is a killer guitar player.

How did you both come up with the idea for Found Her Freedom?

Amanda:Found Her Freedom was actually the first song Dallas and I wrote together. I came in with the title and thought it would be a great song to write with her because it was right up her alley stylistically. When I told her the idea, she fell in love with it because a majority of the songs she had been writing at the time were slower. From there, it was history!

When the idea of Found Her Freedom came about did you think it would be a song that describes an upcoming artist and the story of her coming to age like yourself?

Dallas:Whenever we go to write songs, we all bring in different ideas. Sometimes they are fully developed ideas, just a hook, or inspiration for a song. When I brought “Found Her Freedom” to Amanda Cooksey, it was just a hook. We were curious as to how it could develop and I was very happy with the story it ended up to be.

Besides writing with each other what other activities do you both do when you're together? Do you both sing songs together and perform with each other?

Amanda: Dallas and I perform with each other all of the time. We love playing the songs we have written together in a round so we can tell the story of how it came about. Also, it’s always fun performing with one of your good friends! That being said, we do hang out with each other outside of music as well. We both have gone out to lunch and to the movies together with some of our other good friends.

Describe the connection that you and Dallas have with each other and how you both came to know each other?

Amanda:I met Dallas through a mutual connection in the business. It didn’t take long for us to become good friends after that. We both love music, and she understands my love of superheroes.

She is by far one of the nicest people I have ever met and has been such a supportive and great friend. We always have a good laugh when we are together.

Stop right there!!! I have to know more about your love of superheroes???

Amanda: Haha yea my favorite is Spider-Man!!

I am a big fan of superheroes also! If you could choose one to dress up as who would it be?

Amanda: I kind of want to be Gamora from The Guardians for Halloween!! I just think she's super cool and those movies are amazing!

Found Her Freedom Cover Art

After several pictures posted up for her fans to see and comment on this was the cover art that Dallas ended up choosing to go with for her debut single Found Her Freedom. You can see more of her photos on her facebook page. Make sure to like her page so you can see more about her and places she will be performing...See her links below at the end.

Let's continue to get to know Dallas Remington!

I was so honored to be allowed to create a video with lyrics included. I began by taking the songs lyrics and breaking them down line by line and then the idea of creating her story of coming to age with her music came to me and I wanted to capture her story in photos from when I first came to know her.

I am honored that you allowed me to create a video for your Debut single! Tell us about your experience of being the Featured Artist of the month and your thoughts on the Fan Video?

Dallas: Thank you so much for the video! I absolutely love it! I loved that you used pictures of me through different ages and stages of my career! Being August’s featured Artist was a surprise and an honor! It is so rewarding to have my work noticed and appreciated! SocialStars ROCKS!

Over the years I have seen you grow and evolve into a talented young artist. Describe your journey from the little girl singing covers from Johnny Cash to the artist you are now?

Dallas:Well, I still love to sing Johnny Cash covers and I probably always will. Growing up in the music industry has been both rewarding and challenging. I made the choice to be home-schooled and to give up sports so I could pursue my dreams. At times it was lonely, it required many hours of lessons, and LOTS of traveling. But, I am living my dream doing what I love!

Dallas Remington

I know you have plans to release a whole EP soon. What kind of songs can we expect on the EP?

Dallas: I have been fortunate to co-write with some amazing writers with diverse backgrounds! Also, I love rock, blues, and of course, country. So my album, will be a reflection of all of these.

I know you perform with many different artists and you have introduced me to a handful of them. What are some of your most memorable performances and who would you like to perform with the most that you haven't yet?

Dallas: My most memorable performance would have to be opening for Steele Magnolia and Pam Tillis at the Country Music Hall of Fame a few years ago. I was standing back stage and Little Jimmy Dickens walked right up and stood in front of me! It was so cool!! There are many artists that I would love to perform with! It is very hard to choose. So, here is my top 3: Loretta Lynn, Garth Brooks, and Chris Stapleton.

I know family and your faith have a lot to do with your great success so far, tell us how they both have had an impact in your life?

Dallas:My first exposure to music was growing up in my family's church. I wanted to be just like our worship leader, Tonya. I couldn’t wait until Sunday morning worship service. Without the support of my parents, I would not be where I am today. I am so fortunate to have amazing parents who allow my brother and myself to live our dreams.

Besides music and performing what are some of your favorite hobbies and give us a little behind the scenes info about you and your everyday life?

Dallas:Whenever I get a few days off, I go home to Kentucky where I love to ride four-wheeler ATV's, run around the farm with my dogs, and spend time with my family. On a day off in Nashville, I love to hang out with my friends and go support them at their shows.

Thank you Dallas for being such a great friend and Featured Artist for August! What would you like to say to all the future Featured Artists Nominees?

Dallas:Thank you, SocialStars, for nominating me and for giving me this opportunity. Future nominees, the team at SocialStars has supported and promoted my music for a few years. In today’s music industry, social media is a very important part of the industry and it is a privilege to have SocialStars’ support and friendship! I appreciate them so much and I wish I had million followers like Jerry and the Team. I hope SocialStars continues to grow, succeed, and help artists for many years to come!

Thanks also to you Amanda for being a wonderful new friend also and taking time to be a part of this interview! We are so welcome to have you as the new Featured Artist of the month and part of the SocialStars family! Stay tuned for our next Exclusive Interview with Amanda Cooksey!!

@dallasremington on Twitter

Get Found Her Freedom on iTunes just click below!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page