top of page

All About Ashley-Exclusive Interview with Ashley Walls


What can I say about this Georgia Peach that we all know as Ashley Walls! Not only is Ashley a Country Music Star but she is also our Social Super Star of the Year for 2019. Ashley was chosen as our Social Super Star of September and went on to be Fan Voted Artist of the Year. Ashley's bright eyes and beautiful smile is sure to light up the stage when she performs and her unique vocals will get you out of your seat and keep you on your toes throughout her entire performance.

Ashley is the definition of a true Super Star on the rise. Her fans are the driving force that inspire her to sing and perform. As a singer/songwriter you can feel her passion through the music she writes and her songs paint a clear picture that will touch your heart. On social media you will find that she is very active in connecting with her fans and she enjoys the interaction with fans and other artists.

When I first discovered Ashley about 3 years ago she stood out because of her determination and unique vocals. After getting to know her I was blown away by how dedicated she is to succeed, not only in her music but in her education and growing into the person she is today. Now that she has graduated from the University of Georgia she is about to embark on a new journey to begin the new decade and next chapter of her career in Nashville.

All About Ashley-Biography

Ashley Walls is more than an All-American, Georgia country singer. She is a storyteller, creating songs that come from her heart and experiences. Throughout life she has worked hard for her dreams. Her musical efforts began at a young age when she got her first guitar.

Today she continues to follow her passions in Nashville. She released her album called “Chasing Dreams” and a music video for her single “Mustang”. Celeb Secrets Country has written that Ashley’s music is “ear candy” and her new music video is a “fun visual”. Her song, “Don’t Drink Me Down,” made its way onto Spotify’s New Nashville playlist and her other recent releases have been featured on Whiskey Riff’s New Music Friday. To add to her impressive resume she has also been named Featured Artist of the Year by her fans at SocialStars World Wide and has multiple nominations in their annual awards.

Ashley has been played on 94.9 The Bull, 101.5 Kicks, college radio stations, and on various electronic music platforms. She has headlined many shows across the Southeast and has had the honor of opening for legends like Billy Ray Cyrus. She continues to write, produce, and perform the songs her fans love.

Ashley wants to encourage YOU to keep chasing your dreams.

..."you can feel her passion through the music she writes and her songs paint a clear picture that will touch your heart."~SocialStars

All About Ashley-Exclusive Interview

Tell us about yourself and how you came to be an artist/musician?

At a young age, I fell in love with music. My grandpa taught me how to play slide guitar and I loved to walk around the mall and make up songs for strangers. As I got older, I got more serious about music and played/wrote more often. I eventually came to the realization that I needed to make the big move to Nashville so I buckled down and took 19 hours at UGA to graduate a semester early (go Dawgs!). Right now, I am at that point... about to make the big move and excited about what the future holds.

What kind of formal training have you had to further your career as a musician?

I took both voice lessons and guitar lessons.

Family is the backbone to everything we do in life, for me I have my Family at home and my Social Media Family. How has your family been involved in all of your achievements and what does family support mean to you?

Family support is everything to me. My family has helped me so much over these last few years and pushed me out of my comfort zone to become a better businesswoman and musician. My Dad has been deemed "Roadie Rick" because he is always helping the band and I unload heavy gear and my Mom has played a big part in helping me with emails and bookings. My twin sister, Christie, is my biggest wing woman and hypes me up all the time. My brother, Trent, is the computer genius of the family and helps me with technical support and comes to my shows. My family rocks.

What is the hardest part of becoming a successful artist in the music industry? Now let's turn that around and tell us what the best part of being a musician is?

The hardest part of becoming a successful artist in the industry is the uphill battle at the beginning with little to no money and all the competition out there. Records aren't making the money they used to, due to streaming, so the only sources of income are touring and other side hustles. The best part is definitely touching people with your music and the joy you get from performing on stage and recording. The entire process, from writing to performing, is really addictive.

Let's talk about Social Media, it is the largest tool in every artists success and I would like to hear how it has helped move your career along and how you have utilized this tool? What are some of the challenges you have faced with social media and how has it rewarded you?

Social media has given independent artists a voice that they have never had before.... so of course, I love it! I mostly utilize this tool to give fans a look inside my personal life and where the music really comes from. The biggest challenge for me is posting while I am out because I always get caught up in moments and forget to take my phone out. I have been rewarded by being able to talk to my fans and grow my fan base.

One of the biggest challenges I have heard and experienced in building a career in the music industry is the cost of producing, equipment and travel. What are some suggestions you would give to upcoming artists that struggle with financial problems and have had to put a hold on their own careers?

Well my top two tips are 1) Don't pay to play, 2) Don't play for free once your name is out there. Unfortunately, like any business, new artists have to invest to start their careers, but this doesn't mean you have to start out recording in the nicest studio ever or even recording at all. I would suggest saving up money and playing locally until you can make enough money to record some tunes. As for travel expenses, if a venue wants you to travel they should be covering those expenses, not you.

What are some of the causes around the world that you are most passionate about and what have you done to help these causes? Do you have any favorite charities that you support?

Most recently I played a benefit concert at Port St. Joe Bar after the hurricane hit and played to kids with cancer at Children's Healthcare of Atlanta. I use Charity Miles when I run to raise money for Alzheimers Research and support a wide variety of charities.

How would you describe your performing personality onstage and what do you find most exciting about performing live?

I have a spunky performing personality! I get excited about performing upbeat songs and getting to dance on the stage and also performing acoustic songs so the crowd can really hear my voice and guitar.

What was your most memorable performance and what made it a great experience?

This is a hard one... I would have to say playing in Mexico Beach. We ended up playing an hour extra because the crowd loved us so much and you could see the beach from the stage. Everyone was so happy and there to have a good time, it was great.

Describe your fan interaction at events and how you get them to participate? What are some of your best fan experiences?

I always try to get fans to participate by singing along or sometimes hopping on stage to sing a song. My best fan experiences are when people cry in the middle of songs or tell me how much a song meant to them.

When was the first time you were noticed by a fan outside of a performance and how did it feel to know that your fans recognized you?

One time that made an impression on me was when I was in Target rocking sweatpants, a bun, and no makeup. I was trying to get out as quickly as possible when some knick-knack caught my eye. I heard a girl say, "Excuse me, are you Ashley Walls?" She was excited and said she had seen me open up for Billy Ray Cyrus. It made me feel good that someone had recognized me and made me laugh that she was able to in my state!

Let's talk about your music styling and writing. Who would you say are your major influences when styling your music and how would you describe your writing style?

My influence comes from all over, from Miranda Lambert to Fleetwood Mac... I am not really trying to be anyone else but instead create my own unique sound. My writing style is all over the place but follows a similar format. I just write what the song needs and don't put up limitations for myself because art is supposed to break the rules.

Most songwriters write about personal experiences, would you say that this is true in your writings and would you share an example of this with everyone?

Most definitely. My most recent release, "If You Hear This Song," is about my guitarist who recently passed away. I wrote this song right after his Mom called me to tell me the news. When I went home that weekend to be with my parents, I played the song for them. Once I got to the chorus lyric, "If you hear this song, play along," the dogs started barking and ran towards the door. We went up to our glass door and saw a light shining through and once we opened the door it was gone. Hayden was with us.

You have several new songs released recently, give us a rundown about each of your new songs and a description of each?

I have released so many songs this year! "Don't Drink Me Down," came out and is about the time right after a breakup where you still love the person and don't want them to go out drinking and forget about you and your love. "Kids of the Dirty South," is about living in the South and enjoying nights filled with love, mudding, and partying. "Anything for a Buck," is a hunting song and a love song with some fun puns. Check them out y'all!

What future plans have you already made and what can fans expect?

Well, the big Nashville move is coming up very soon and I will be vlogging my journey in Nashville... so keep up with me!! I also have more music coming out and will be playing a bunch in 2020!

If you could travel anywhere and perform at anyplace you wanted with anyone you wanted to perform with, where would it be and with who?

The Grand Ole Opry has always been my dream venue to perform at... as for the guest star, I would be happy with anyone!

Okay it's time to get to know you a little better with some fun questions. Describe a typical night out with friends? What are some favorite activities outside of music? What are some of your hobbies?

My friends and I are pretty versatile: sometimes we like to go out but other nights we like to kick it inside and relax. Outside of music, I enjoy reading, working out, and traveling... music is mostly my passion though!

What is your favorite:

TV Shows YOU (as of right now)

Food or Dish Pesto Pasta mhhmmm

Drink(Alcoholic and Non-alcoholic) Prosecco and Pineapple Coconut Water

Starbucks Drink Black Coffee

Fast Food places Chick-Fil-A

Sports and Teams(College and Pro) Georgia Bulldogs and Predators

Go to song or artist Changes all the time!

Movie Flicka

SocialStars was formed to help rising independent artists like yourself. Tell us about your experience in being a Featured Artist on our site and what you would say to other artists that have not been in your spot?

I feel so humbled to be featured on SocialStars and want to thank you for doing this for independent artists like myself. For other indie artists out there who haven't had this opportunity, I would say to keep working hard and stay true to yourself and your music... you'll get there.

Thank you so much Ashley for being part of the SocialStars Family and for taking time to allow us and your fans to get to know you and your music better! It has been a pleasure to work with you and all the fans over the last year that have made lasting memories.

If you enjoyed this interview make sure to give it a like and leave a comment below.

Make sure to follow Ashley Walls at the links listed below and checkout her website for more great music and info.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page