top of page

Real American Girl Interview with Amanda Cooksey-My America


Amanda Cooksey FanArt

September's Featured Artist of the Month Amanda Cooksey is the definition of a "Real American Girl" from her charming personality, her beauty and her amazing vocals, Amanda is the full package of am emerging star in the Pop/Country music industry. Over the past month I have gotten to know more about Amanda and had the great opportunity to bring you the following interview that we shared in putting together for all her fans. We hope you enjoy the following interview and if you haven't gotten to know her yet please take time to follow and subscribe to her on social media! We have links throughout the interview and at the end. Comments are welcomed also, so please let us know if you liked it.

Introducing Country Recording Artist Amanda Cooksey

SocialStars is proud to introduce Miss Amanda Cooksey to our growing family of talented artists. Amanda was nominated by her best friend Dallas Remington to compete in our fan voted monthly contest and her fans jumped on board to help her win.

Amanda started her career at the young age of 12 writing her own songs in Orlando, FL In 2014 Amanda moved to Nashville to attend Belmont University and brought her charm and talents to music city where she now calls home. Her mix of Country and Pop music can be heard in her unique style and she gets her inspiration from artists like Adele, Colbie Caillat, Carrie Underwood, Miranda Lambert and Taylor Swift.

Amanda Cooksey FanArt

Amanda works hard to produce music for her fans and brings her writing talents to use when collaborating with many other talented and some Grammy nominated artists. Together they have produced songs like "Driving Me Crazy" and her latest single "My America". She can also be found performing all over Nashville and taking part in Writer's Rounds at many great venues.

Amanda’s heart is much like her work ethic. She is a music philanthropist and volunteers with Tunes for Tots to help Make a Wish and Simon House. Amanda was moved to help raise awareness for charities that help people with cancer when several of her friends were diagnosed with cancer as well as her Uncle and her most loved music instructor-Ron Feldman.

SocialStars Exclusive Interview with Amanda Cooksey

Let's get started and jump right into some questions. First tell us a little about your past and how you became involved with singing and performing?

Amanda: I started taking piano lessons when I was 6. I found a new instructor when I began middle school and he taught me how to play and sing. He was also a vocal teacher and encouraged me to start singing at open mics. I began singing out and loved it.

I have seen you perform live now a few times, when performing you are really outgoing but I sense that you're really shy otherwise. Does something change when you pickup your guitar and start playing? Did you have stage fright when you first began performing?

Amanda:I have always been very shy and it took a long time before I worked up the nerve to get out and sing. I walked out of an audition because I was too scared but a year later with my piano teachers encouragement I auditioned and fell in love with performing. I do get stage fright but it disappears when I get on stage and start singing. I feel at home behind the guitar or piano.

Amanda Cooksey

Tell me about your experiences going from being a Florida native to moving to Nashville and living in a town full of rich tradition and music?

Amanda: I love Florida and miss the beach but Nashville is my home now. I was excited to move and meet other people who love music as much as I do. The city is alive with songwriters and creativity. It feels like where I belong and I really don't miss home that much because of my love for the city.

As a fellow songwriter, tell us about your process of writing a song and where most of your inspiration comes from?

Amanda: I love co-writing and when I get in the room with other writers the ideas and stories start to flow. Soon a song is born.

I get most of my inspiration to write when events happen in my life. If they are good then the lyrics come out upbeat with a positive story behind them, if something bad happens I try to write about how I overcame the situation to make the story positive.

My America is your latest single that you released. Give us a behind the song story of how My America came about?

Amanda: Three of us wrote the song. The title and idea came from one of the other writers. We started to talk bout what America meant to each of us and the lines came naturally.

Was this song recorded purposely to come out right around July 4th or did it just happen that way?

Amanda: We wrote the song a year ago and I decided it would be great to release it around the Fourth of July!

This song is so great and should be up there with others like God Bless the USA. I was born around the beginning of July along with my late Grandmother, Aunt and Cousin who have all passed now, so July 4th is one of my favorite holidays to celebrate.

Besides music you have also been involved in pageants. Tell us a little about your pageant experiences also?

Amanda: I was a contestant in Miss Florida USA and Miss Tennessee USA. It was fun and I got to meet some great women.

When not working on music, what are some of your favorite activities?

Amanda: I love to run and watch Netflix when not working on music.

What is your favorite show to watch on Netflix?

Amanda: Friends!!

Friends is one of my favorites also. If you had to choose a Character off of friends that you are most like who would it be and why?

Amanda: Monica because she is a perfectionist. She is neat and likes everything organized.

Amanda Cooksey Photo

What are some of your favorite hot spots around Nashville?

Amanda: I love going to the Listening Room and Belcourt Taps to listen to songwriters. Great way to meet people.

I have been to Belcourt Taps and I understand why you like it so much. The atmosphere is great, the people there come to listen and hear the newest music and the stories behind the songs, not to mention the staff is wonderful there also.

Finally tell us about how your experience has been with us here at SocialStars and what you would like to tell your fans and future artists of the month nominees.

Amanda: SocialStars is a wonderful platform for artists to get showcased and allow people to hear their music. Please frequent their site and learn about and listen to some new talent. You will love working with SocialStars.

Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart for being our Featured Artist of the Month! It has been a great pleasure to work with you all month long and to build a great new relationship with such an amazing young artist. I wish you all the best in your future journey's and SocialStars will be with you along the way to see you continue to grow into the Superstar that I know you will become.

You can find more about Amanda at her links below! Thanks for taking time to read our blog and keep returning to see more. You can also subscribe to our website for monthly updates from us.

Amanda Cooksey

Subscribe for FREE Music!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page